BUG New Zealand travel guidebook
Travel safely with World Nomads travel insurance
BUG New Zealand travel guidebook


BUG New Zealand travel guidebook

Destination guides > New Zealand & Pacific Islands > Travel essentials > Entry requirements > New Zealand tourist visas

Tourist visas

New Zealand

You do not require a visa to visit New Zealand if you hold one of the following passports: Andorra, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Bahrain, Belgium, Brazil, Brunei, Bulgaria, Canada, Chile, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hong Kong, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Kuwait, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malaysia, Malta, Mexico, Monaco, Netherlands, Norway, Oman, Poland, Portugal, Qatar, Romania, San Marino, Saudi Arabia, Singapore, Slovak Republic, Slovenia, South Africa, South Korea, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, United Arab Emirates, United States of America, Uruguay and Vatican City.

You will need to apply for a visitor’s visa if you are not from one of the above countries. To apply for a visa you will need to supply a completed Application for Visiting New Zealand (form NZIS 1017, available from New Zealand embassies and consulates), a passport photo and evidence of access to at least $1000 for each month you intend to stay in New Zealand. You may also be asked to show an onward ticket. Visitor visas cost $100-130 depending on your nationality and where the visa is issued.

See the Working in New Zealand section for information on work visas.

Follow us:

Follow us on Twitter Like BUG on Facebook